I <3 sluts, also, the story between 2 hardcore bands involving accusations of wiggerdom, tourbus blowjobs, and backstage fights

AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH. Well this week, despite a sesh today going through some music blogs looking for relevant new deathcore bands to jam, I’ve been listening to a shit load of pop and crunkcore. Which I guess is ok, cos apart from Rowan, no one else really seems to dig metal.

Then again, no one likes crunkcore.

So fuck it.

Hungary seems to be the new epicenter of Deathcore, for unknown reasons. I just love it when cute places like eastern Europe try and be like Americans, I find it adorable. Here is one such band called “Slaughter At The Engagement Party”, with their hit single, “Hang ’em in the front yard”.

It’s 2010 and death metal bands now look like this. Arn’t they cute, they almost look like real Americans!!! Cept the guy on the right, he looks far more typically Hungarian, he could be working in a takeaway shop and not be out of place saying “..and what for you my friend?” when you walk up to the counter.

Also, since having been at Mark’s flat this week and having caught some kind of VH1 “Rihanna vs Beyonce” special. I have also been diggin’ Rihanna’s Disturbia, which is a pretty jammin track. It’s got that dancy beat and some cool autotune moments (I fucking love autotune!). All ppl like Beyonce and Rihanna, I guess pop chicks in general, seem to flick between awesome dancy tunes you can get crunk to in a decent setting, and really really gay ballads, normally with stupid fucking black and white videos. No one listens to disposable pop for a deep message, so just give us some catchy tunes for us to dance to! Disturbia is one such good example.

Also, pretty certain that Rihanna would be much more fun to hang out with irl than Beyonce. Beyonce seems like kina a buzz killington, while I recon Rihanna would be much more down to get “fucked up”, and have fun/substance abuse/silly convos without getting all offended over something trivial. Plus Beyonce strikes me as the kind of pretentious cunt who’s always out to prove her intelligence, and so will never cross certain lines. Plus shes meant to be redic religious, so that would probably put a damper on most amoral fun.

Another such group, lying somewhere between crunkcore and straight up pop, is The Millionaires, and amoral fun is totally their jam.

Which one would you most like to eff?

I totally 100% non ironically love these girls, for their sheer lack of any general pretention, amoung other things. Oh and this tweet, which has to be the best thing twitter has ever done:

Cool that their shindig is pretty much “yeah, we’re sluts, so what”, espesh when ppl like Beyonce are constantly trying to go for the whole pseudo intellectual route. I imagine when/if they get bigger then other such pop starlets will start to bitch and get all butthurt because they’re perpetualting a negative stereotype/image/role model/standard, but who gives a fuck right?

Actually, I guess Ke$ha already exists, and gets that kina shit 24/7, so yeah, point proved.

Love girls who are unappologetically slutty/d2f, or at least cool with going for that image, without nessacerily effing tons of guys. Like, dudes are always cool withit, but the sec chicks try and do the same kind of thing in music, tons of hipster faggots come and call them talentless sluts, which may be true, but is kina besides the point, cos they make fun tunes.

Speaking of Ke$ha, who im kina into, although only know that one song, tiktok, or whatever, as well as autotune abuse, this cover of said Ke$ha song, by one of the current crunkcore “heartthobs”, T Mills, is pretty dope.

This will be on my summer playlist. Maybe on “morning jamz”

Also, to end on a heavier note, I will leave you with some Acacia Strain, which has also been my Jam this week. They play an extremely negatively vibed brand of hardcore, which some people like to refer to as xregretxcorex. Hardcore seems to be split down to middle with bands whose message is “Believe in yourself, fuck yeah, lets do this, hugghhhh!!” and beat their chests and make wiggerish arm movements, and bands whose message is “I am a massive fuck up, and I will fucking kill you”, and beat their chests and make wiggerish arm movements.

Anyways, this song, Skynet, is aimed at another band called Emmure, who TAS have beef with for stealing their sound. As you can tell by the video, which basically makes fun of Emmure for being huge wiggers (those in glass houses, am I rite?!?), as well as some pretty direct lyrics.

If you think like a whore then you’re a fucking whore.
Plagiarism is the highest form of flattery.
Why would you ever want to be like me?
We are all someone else’s terrible idea.
If you catch the evil twin then why would you keep it alive?
If you feel the fucking daggers then why not just step aside?
You are all bastard children and you’ve taken it all the wrong way.
Keep fooling yourself with you unappreciation.
Look into my eyes and know that I can see right through you.
I’ll erase you from the thoughts and tongues of everyone you know.
Even if you apologized to me right now it would mean nothing.
Cry to me and beg for mercy all you want, you’re fucking dead.
I don’t care when or why you cry.
I just want to be there when you die.
I’ll be collecting soon.
I’ll be coming for my payment soon.
You’re nothing but a fucking pig.
And you owe me your life.
Vanflip times a thousand.
Don’t believe the hype.
No care ever.

Anyway, The Acacia strain have been around for a while, and seem to be basically be annoyed at alot of the younger bands in this scene they helped create, acting like huge wiggers, which this video is a direct dig at, but at Emmure more than any.

Emmure, sporting 2 new era caps in one photo. Pretty sure that one was the limit for hardcore bands (I think this allowance becomes 2 if you actually have a black guy in your band, i.e Oceano, or Her Demise, My Rise)

This beef could have quite easily ended there, with no further words said, but then Emmure responded in two ways.

1. Emmure’s singer, Frankie, got a blowjob from Vincent’s (TAS’s singer) ex girlfriend on their tourbus

2. In their next album, “Felony”, Emmure write a song about said blowjob, and basically use it as an opportunity to backtalk TAS!

All of a sudden: ITS ON!

Said blowjob song by Emmure, the tittersomely titled R2 Deepthroat:


I can see right through you
Now tell me does that sound familiar?

Now that I got your attention
I just wanted to say
I am so flattered that you mention my name
You’ve been paying my bills for way too long
And I’m so happy that you just can’t stop talking shit

Keep running your mouth

I keep cashing checks
Snapping necks
So keep running your mouth

I keep them shook crews running
Like they supposed to
You come around but you never come close to

I can see it inside your face
You’re in the wrong place

I implore you to comprehend
I’m more machine now than man

You’re so vain
I bet you think this song is about you
Don’t you

So much for plagiarism
So much for you to waste your breath running your mouth
A rat race to the top
Sore losers never satisfied with what they’ve got

Your career is flipping
So do me a favor
The next time you see her
Ask your girl what my dick tastes like

Yo
What

I just love the “ask yo girl what my dick tastes like!” moment at 1:50, followed by an awesome twangy groove riff

So now Vincent from the Acacia Strain was “positively fuming” at these events, and so in retaliation turned up at an Emmure show backstage, and the two duked it out. Not sure who won, probably Vincent, cos hes bigger, although Frankie will have had the rest of his band nearby.

Was hoping they would have a driveby tbh, but hey, the scene’s relatively young. Still waiting for hardecore to get it’s own “Biggy and Tupac” moment.

Also, Mace, Bro, Dude, Brodude, we need a “pop” and “crunkcore” tag

Sorted dude!

20 thoughts on “I <3 sluts, also, the story between 2 hardcore bands involving accusations of wiggerdom, tourbus blowjobs, and backstage fights

  1. I’d argue that those ‘The Millionaires’ are pretentious. Not in the way you use the word, which is a gross misrepresentation. (Your calling of “Synecdoche, New York” pretentious comes to mind). Pretentious does not mean arty or whatever, it is just that art very often IS pretentious. All that is pretentious is SOMETHING THAT IS TRYING TO APPEAR IN A WAY IT IS NOT. Which is exactly what Millionaires do.

    They have the pretension of a certain kind of lifestyle and a certain kind of attitude.

    For starters they carry the confident pretension of being attractive, which they are not. Regardless of the absurd make-up and style (which in itself is creating a sort of pretense of image) we can have a look at their lyrics:

    “Fake ID’s, lots of cash

    Race that Benz, we go real fast

    2 a.m. and I’m still goin'”

    Now this song the lyrics are from “I like Money” was one of the bands first, written in 2007. At that time the members were all between 16 and 18 I believe. So I’ll be honest, I don’t think that these lyrics truly represented the lifestyle lived by the girls at the time. We’re talking about three teenagers, not remarkable in any real way, in a highly conservative society in regards to drink and sex. They were likely influenced greatly by the boasts of rappers in their songs.

    Granted, they may have had nights of party and drunken revelry as we all do at that age (although americans far far less than you and i, american teenage parties in most cases are an absolute joke in comparison to ours). However this song clearly implies this to be a general lifestyle. I don’t believe that was true at the time of writing, however probably is true now considering their relative success. Consider, “2am and I’m still goin”. Now is it just me or is that not something to boast about. in terms of living a partyish lifestyle 2am is practically nothing. So why brag about it? Well its obvious that theirs a pretense here. The girls at the time of writing were under the impression that 2am was awesome and late and hardxcore as far as partying goes. Compare this to Snoop Dogg’s “Gin n Juice” in which he brags about having girls not leaving til 6 in the morning. Now that sounds like he knows what hes actually talking about . Imagine old snoop bragging about pårtying til “OMG2AM”. Just doesn’t work.
    So if Millionaires live such a party lifestyle, howcome they make this fundamental error in the way of partying? Because they werent living this lifestyle when this song was written. Their song was an exercise in fantasy, for three unremarkable American teenagers wanting to look cool on myspace. Meaning this whole song is an exercise in pretending, in creating a pretense, the word we use for that is pretentious.

    Thus Millionaires are pretentious.

    Also FYI the whole attitude of “I don’t give a fuck” is a pretension in 99% of cases. Because yes EVERYBODY actually gives a fuck. Even if that means giving a fuck about not giving a fuck. Everybody cares and everybody worries and everybody has moments where they feel the weight of the world, and that is undeniable, its a part of being human. And unless dear Melissa Marie of yours is not human, she has these moments too. She has these emotional moments, she probably has many people she cares about, is afraid of, loves. To pretend otherwise is not only a sad belittling of the beauty of the human condition, but also a blatent lie, in all but probably some sociopath. I don’t think Melissa Marie is a sociopath.

    You may think I’m looking for small things and exploiting them, and yes thats exactly what I am doing.

    You say they have a sheer lack of any general pretension. not true, they have pretensions of various lifestyle aspects, of truly not giving a fuck. i’m sure if I had the stamina to listen to this filth there would be a million more waiting for me.

    ONNE MORRRE THING.

    “Cool that their shindig is pretty much “yeah, we’re sluts, so what”… …because they’re perpetualting a negative stereotype/image/role model/standard, but who gives a fuck right?”

    No that’s not cool. Why would that be cool. Being a slut as we understand the term in society is bad for the human wellbeing. Within relationships it promotes betrayal, lack of restraint, an overimportance on sex, and a belittling of making love. If you think its ok to be a slut go and watch the movie “Kids”. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kids_(film)

    Watch that movie before you reply to this. Thanks. that goes for other readers, its a good movie.
    There are serious consequences to being sluttish, not only because of its absolute ignorance of the virtues of commitment and patience and restraint and of consideration rather than impulse.

    So we can likely all agree that being a slut is a bad thing. Now lets rid our minds of this “bad is cool lol” idea, because no by its definition something bad is NOT GOOD. Thats like me going “Yeah I enjoy insulting people and being a judgemental idiot” (which I don’t enjoy, it just seems to happen, thanks) and saying lol SO WHAT WHAT YOU GONNA DO SON. Thats not cool. Why would that be cool. being a slut is no different, its a negative way of behaving in society, its just more socially accepted as cool because of layers of rotting pop society.

    If someone like Beyonce comes along and gets at them for perpetuating the slut thing, then they’d be absolutely right. They might be doing it for bad reasons, such as being pretentious themselves, that’s perfectly valid point, but where they are coming from and why they say it has NO EFFECT on the validity of the argumentor proposition itself. For example the Philosopher Heidegger was a Nazi supporting Hitler, yet we don’t reject his fantastic writings about philosophy because of that.

    So In short, you’re wrong on everything you say about Millionaires. They are pretentious and their attitude is not cool and other people like beyonce who insult them are not wrong to do so(even if they do it for the wrong reasons).

    • Synecdoche was a “metaphor wankfest” as you elegantly put it. But it wasn’t pretentious. It didn’t claim to be something it wasn’t. It had points and metaphors to make, and it made them, and they were real metaphors with substance behind them. Therwe was no pretense of anything.

  2. Yeah, but going as far as kids is kina a slippery slope.

    It’s like saying emmure and TAS are as bad as people traffickers because they make wiggerish hand gestures

  3. Ok, fuck it, here we go

    You’re making several assumptions, slippery slopes, getting caught on semantics, as well as some both inverse and traditional snobbery.

    What you got right was the following:

    Yes, the Millionaires are 3 young girls from (as far as I can tell) pretty decent backgrounds in middle America. I would say that they’re white as well, but they’re some kind of Japanese, Canadian, French and god knows what else hybrid. They are young, younger than me in fact, and I think the youngest is your age. As well as being American, rich and young, I doubt they are familiar with some of the more insalubrious extremes of decadence, instead focusing on a kind of sugar coated (you may say pretentious) fictional brand of it. I doubt they are actually even that promiscuous, as 2 of the 3 have boyfriends, and they don’t really, despite the music, strike me as that slutty in a real world context. More on how you missed the point on that later.

    Attractiveness aside (personally I do find them attractive, but that’s neither here nor there), your first point was pretention, as well as my use of the word.

    My use of the word pretentious, is referring to an attitude taken my many bands, artists, annoying students and teenagers, and many others, which is pretty much summed up by what you said to me on facebook chat this morning, something along the lines of:

    “what does this artistically contribute to the world, or do to make it better”

    I hate this stance passionately, for firstly saying that all art, music, film or anything has to be some kind of intellectual masterpiece, that functions on several levels while being original and questioning all aspects of being.

    While of course, such masterpieces do exist, more often than not, everyone is trying too hard to get something like this, which gives us convoluted trite like Synecdoche, prog rock, as well as boring as fuck bands consisting of music college geeks. Achieving this level of masterpiece every step of the way is both unrealistic and ridiculous.

    Secondly, this attitude completely gets lost along the way, and forgets all about fun. Is not providing fun music to get fucked up to not a worthy cause? Is straight up party music not intellectual enough to be acknowledged at all. What about blink 182, who I know you’re a fan of.

    Your attitude in that comment, is what makes people say Avatar was a bad film because they could “predict the ending”. It’s a done before story, but executed beautifully, with wonderful cinematography, just because it doesn’t make me think a great deal, doesn’t rob it of artistic value.

    Dumb party music has been done before, but Millionaires, and indeed crunkcore as a whole, is an exciting new development of this. As always, this new genre is an easy target for your type, as it has little in the way of intellectual value, which somehow you claim makes it worthless. If you don’t enjoy it, don’t listen, but don’t go all high and fucking mighty on it.

    At times I need more from my music, sometimes I want to think, in which case I will listen to either technical death metal, some kind of prog, or maybe even classical, but for example, drinking before a night out or just trying to chill, I prefer more casual music. Just like I’m not always in the mood to watch Citizen Kane, sometimes I’m happy to lie back and watch Transformers. Sometimes I want a fucking kebab instead of lobster thermidor.

    Basically, a world in which everyone is consistently trying to prove their intellect, is a very very dull one indeed. And this is what I mean by pretentious. It may be a slightly wrong use of the word, but that’s just semantics. I hate this ubiquitous attitude of “more art than thou”, which is fucking everywhere at uni. I face it all the time from student faggots who assume I’m stupid because of the music I listen to, when in fact I’m so much more involved in music than they could ever hope to be. They just started listening to jazz last week because “that’s what clever little middle class fucks like me do”, and then suddenly they’re fucking better than me? This is my idea of pretentious, and while it may not be strictly correct use of the word, that doesn’t really matter, because it’s an abhorrent attitude that I despise.

    You say that the Millionaires are pretentious because they don’t live the life they claim to, but since when was song lyrics binding contract? I find them to be true to their image, which is a kind of “safe play decadence”. Your comment about 2am was pretty much straight out snobbery, times are arbitrary, if they think that’s an extreme time then let them, it’s tame by my standards too, but I find it cute, as oppose to “pretentious”.

    You seem to be taking everything they say at face value, cynically combing over every word looking for something to pick cracks in them for. Like I clarified at the beginning, these are 3 well off American girls who write songs and got lucky. They write songs about partying and like I said “PLAY decadence”. They aren’t trying to be snoop dog, they aren’t trying to be OMG extreme, they are simply using an image, to go with the music.
    You need to take everything with much more salt, and get that they realise it’s pretend. A bands lyrics, and the image they perpetuate, isn’t nessecerily true to real life, and everybody, them included, knows this. You aren’t clever for going “hold on, I don’t believe they actually life like this, NO NO NO, I dont buy this at all!”. Like I said, 3 rich girls writing songs about partying, and going for a “party girl” image. WHAT THE FUCK IS YOUR PROBLEM WITH THIS?

    Next, your problem with saying “I don’t give a fuck”, again, yes, take it with some fucking salt, it is normally not 100% true, but again, the rest of the world gets this, so no one finds it intelligent that you noticed it’s not actually true. “Don’t give a fuck”, is simple teen music speak, and yes, it doesn’t mean “I don’t care about anything” as much as “everyone look at me having fun!”.

    Your problem is that you are terribly literal minded, and take all these things at 100% face value, with no allowance for any playing around or pretending with image. It’s as ridiculous as getting angry at someone wearing camo shorts because they weren’t in the army. I listen to rap music and wear new era caps, but I’m not black, does this annoy you too? I doubt they are actually Millionaires, but it’s just a name, and it’s just an image. You’re not a Japanese anime character, but I don’t get angry when you decide to do your hair as such.

    RE: Being a slut
    I said in the beginning that I didn’t actually believe they’re that slutty, and again, it’s more of an image thing (something you seem to have a serious problem getting your head around, having a not 100% true to real life image =/= pretentious).

    I’ve seen Kids actually, and while I enjoyed it, I found it to be typically alarmist demonising promiscuity “Oh my god, the kids are fucking out of control” bullshit, much like skins. People who make these films are yet to really understand that while teenagers do take drugs and fuck each other, It’s not really a big deal.

    You say slut, I say promiscuous, or just, being single. Girls, just like boys, can be intelligent, in control, and still sleep around, with no real negative effects. There is a social stigma attached to this, worse than for a guy to do it, but it’s ultimately no different. STDs don’t happen if you’re sensible, and if you’re responsible enough, there’s nothing wrong with fucking as many people as you want. That the kids in kids all got AIDs is just further alarmist bullshit, and the problem wasn’t sex itself, but lack of care. Basically, you’re on a huge slippery slope, and claiming that promiscuity leads to the death of civilisation is a step away from religious “live like I live” bullshit. Ultimately, you can have your own values, I will have mine, and The Millionaires can have theirs, and non of us can tell the other how to live their life.

    “Within relationships it promotes betrayal, lack of restraint, an over importance on sex, and a belittling of making love.” – Of course being a slut in a relationship is a bad thing, it’s the complete opposite of being in a fucking relationship. The very point is that you’re not in a relationship, but if you are, then obviously that’s a fucking problem! Doesn’t make it bad if you’re not in a relationship. It’s the same as calling computers evil because they don’t work underwater! They’re not meant to, just like being in a relationship isn’t meant to involve sleeping around.

    Also, many people your age seem to have a problem differentiating between “fucking” and “making love”. They are different activities, and they both have their place. Don’t confuse them.

    Another interesting point, also relevant with where you are now, is that promiscuity, if anything, is good for society. In Scandinavia, people report some of the highest numbers of sexual partners in the world, yet all these countries are often viewed as a standard of how a functional society should be, with some of the highest living standards/medical care/life expectancy as well.

    Meanwhile, places like the middle east, where promiscuity is demonised, and religious bullshit lies at every decision, have fucking awful societies.

    Further than that, research shows that promiscuity creates attractiveness, due to free run of sexuality, with no religious or societal limits. Again, Sweden and the middle east, attractive people, ugly people.

    Ultimately, the millionaires write dumb catchy pop tunes that I and many others enjoy. Take them, their image, and everything else with a pinch of salt, and realise it’s not all meant to be taken at face value. A song line isn’t a factual statement.

  4. You are like BAybee dont know what to do


    I doubt they are familiar with some of the more insalubrious extremes of decadence, instead focusing on a kind of sugar coated (you may say pretentious) fictional brand of it. ”

    Good you agree that they in fact are then a little pretentious.


    My use of the word pretentious, is referring to an attitude taken my many bands, artists, annoying students and teenagers, and many others, which is pretty much summed up by what you said to me on facebook chat this morning, something along the lines of:

    “what does this artistically contribute to the world, or do to make it better””

    Well here’s the problem son, that’s not what the word means, so you’re using the word wrong. Language doesn’t work unless we go buy the rules. Because your definition is so so far removed from the actual definition of the word that its almost unrecognisable. Your problem is you have taken an example of pretension, and made it your definition.


    I hate this stance passionately, for firstly saying that all art, music, film or anything has to be some kind of intellectual masterpiece, that functions on several levels while being original and questioning all aspects of being.”

    Nope. That’s not what the stance says. If you read it closely all it asks is on the addition of anything good to the world. Some innocent fun works just the same.


    While of course, such masterpieces do exist, more often than not, everyone is trying too hard to get something like this, which gives us convoluted trite like Synecdoche, prog rock, as well as boring as fuck bands consisting of music college geeks. Achieving this level of masterpiece every step of the way is both unrealistic and ridiculous.

    but surely we can commend these people for striving to something better, even if they fail? They’re at least trying to create something amazing. Why should we condemn them for that.


    Secondly, this attitude completely gets lost along the way, and forgets all about fun. Is not providing fun music to get fucked up to not a worthy cause? Is straight up party music not intellectual enough to be acknowledged at all. What about blink 182, who I know you’re a fan of.

    Oh yeah I agree, but then I never said that fun music wasn’t valuable. But then there’s a difference between Blink singing rather innocently about high school woes and Millionaires basically just spending the whole song posting about being a slut. Big difference.


    Your attitude in that comment, is what makes people say Avatar was a bad film because they could “predict the ending”. It’s a done before story, but executed beautifully, with wonderful cinematography, just because it doesn’t make me think a great deal, doesn’t rob it of artistic value.

    Well I liked Avatar, and again I don’t disagree with you about this point. It had plenty of value.


    Dumb party music has been done before, but Millionaires, and indeed crunkcore as a whole, is an exciting new development of this. As always, this new genre is an easy target for your type, as it has little in the way of intellectual value, which somehow you claim makes it worthless. If you don’t enjoy it, don’t listen, but don’t go all high and fucking mighty on it.

    it’s fine to dedicate the music to fun etc. I never said it wasn’t. You seem to be replying to what you read into my “attitude” rather than what I actually said. You’re extrapolating opinions for me from what you percieve as my attitude. Intellectual value is not the only kind of value. Dumb party fun is also valuable, again i wont deny that.

    However we should never condone immorality in the name of fun.


    At times I need more from my music, sometimes I want to think, in which case I will listen to either technical death metal, some kind of prog, or maybe even classical, but for example, drinking before a night out or just trying to chill, I prefer more casual music. Just like I’m not always in the mood to watch Citizen Kane, sometimes I’m happy to lie back and watch Transformers. Sometimes I want a fucking kebab instead of lobster thermidor.

    Again, no real relevance to the actual points I originally made. You’re ranting based on the idea that I think things with no intellectual value are worthless, which isn’t true. This whole thing is null.


    Basically, a world in which everyone is consistently trying to prove their intellect, is a very very dull one indeed. And this is what I mean by pretentious. It may be a slightly wrong use of the word, but that’s just semantics.

    It’s not just semantics because it is changing the definition in a considerable way.
    The definition is this: Claiming or demanding a position of distinction or merit, especially when unjustified.

    Now it seems you agree with me that that is what Millionaires are doing, in a way. However under your definition they wouldn’t be it. So it’s important semantics. Because depending on what we use then they either are or aren’t. Your original claim was that they have NO pretensions. My claim is they do. I am right based on the official definition. I am wrong based on your definition. So it matters.


    I hate this ubiquitous attitude of “more art than thou”, which is fucking everywhere at uni. I face it all the time from student faggots who assume I’m stupid because of the music I listen to, when in fact I’m so much more involved in music than they could ever hope to be. They just started listening to jazz last week because “that’s what clever little middle class fucks like me do”, and then suddenly they’re fucking better than me?

    This sounds like a personal rant more deserving of your pink hello kitty diary about the other kids at school, and has next to no importance in this discussion anymore.


    This is my idea of pretentious, and while it may not be strictly correct use of the word, that doesn’t really matter, because it’s an abhorrent attitude that I despise.

    IT MATTERS WHEN WE ARE USING THE TERM IN A PUBLIC FORUM OF ARGUMENT. YET IT MATTERS AS I EXPLAINED ABOVE.


    You say that the Millionaires are pretentious because they don’t live the life they claim to, but since when was song lyrics binding contract? I find them to be true to their image, which is a kind of “safe play decadence”. Your comment about 2am was pretty much straight out snobbery, times are arbitrary, if they think that’s an extreme time then let them, it’s tame by my standards too, but I find it cute, as oppose to “pretentious”.

    Well based on the definition it is pretentious. I’m basing my argument on the actual way our language works. You are on personal dislikes emotions and what you “find” it to be.


    You seem to be taking everything they say at face value, cynically combing over every word looking for something to pick cracks in them for.

    Exactly right. Simply in order to show to you that in fact sometimes things like them are pretentious too, not just the arty people.


    Like I clarified at the beginning, these are 3 well off American girls who write songs and got lucky. They write songs about partying and like I said “PLAY decadence”. They aren’t trying to be snoop dog, they aren’t trying to be OMG extreme, they are simply using an image, to go with the music.

    That’s fine.


    You need to take everything with much more salt, and get that they realise it’s pretend. A bands lyrics, and the image they perpetuate, isn’t nessecerily true to real life, and everybody, them included, knows this.

    Well ok, you just used the word “pretend”. To describe what they do. And it is by large pretend to make them appear cool and crazy, don’t deny that.


    You aren’t clever for going “hold on, I don’t believe they actually life like this, NO NO NO, I dont buy this at all!”. Like I said, 3 rich girls writing songs about partying, and going for a “party girl” image. WHAT THE FUCK IS YOUR PROBLEM WITH THIS?

    No problem. I’m not saying they should stop. My argument is not against THEM, it’s against YOUR claims they have no pretensions. Which as we’ve both agreed isn’t true. That’s all I set out to say.


    Next, your problem with saying “I don’t give a fuck”, again, yes, take it with some fucking salt, it is normally not 100% true, but again, the rest of the world gets this, so no one finds it intelligent that you noticed it’s not actually true. “Don’t give a fuck”, is simple teen music speak, and yes, it doesn’t mean “I don’t care about anything” as much as “everyone look at me having fun!”.

    That’s fine. I understand what it is actually meaning. but notice they aren’t saying “look at me I’m having fun”. And I’d imagine many people take it more seriously than you do. And I’d imagine them themselves enjoy presenting this image, because of how it makes them appear. Again, this just further shows how they fit the definition, in turn showing how your claim they have no pretensions is just wrong.

    The rest of it is just ranting. Let me spell it out for you in an easily digestable way:

    Your claim: “I totally 100% non ironically love these girls, for their sheer lack of any general pretention”

    My claim: “I’d argue that those ‘The Millionaires’ are pretentious.”

    1:The criteria of the definition of (the real) definition of pretentious fits the millionaires in multiple ways

    2:Therefore, by the genuine definition (which is majorly different to your personal one) they are pretentious.

    3:So my original claim was correct, and yours wasn’t.

    Case closed on that count, i suppose.

    ————————————————————–>


    I’ve seen Kids actually, and while I enjoyed it, I found it to be typically alarmist demonising promiscuity “Oh my god, the kids are fucking out of control” bullshit, much like skins. People who make these films are yet to really understand that while teenagers do take drugs and fuck each other, It’s not really a big deal.

    Well as far as that movie goes that’s a very different environment to what you’re familiar with or connected to in any way. Something like 60% of teenage girls in the US have some form of STI. This doesn’t really affect you in any way (we can hope, though), but the lifestyle of slut is one of the main causes. So yeah, it is a big deal.


    You say slut, I say promiscuous, or just, being single.

    You’re not serious are you? If you honestly think slut=single, then I’ve got some bad news for you son.


    Girls, just like boys, can be intelligent, in control, and still sleep around, with no real negative effects. There is a social stigma attached to this, worse than for a guy to do it, but it’s ultimately no different. STDs don’t happen if you’re sensible, and if you’re responsible enough, there’s nothing wrong with fucking as many people as you want.

    Well it turns out teenagers by large are not sensible or responsible. Maybe you are and your ideal of an intelligent teenage girl, but lets be honest here, thats not the majority, by far.


    That the kids in kids all got AIDs is just further alarmist bullshit, and the problem wasn’t sex itself, but lack of care. Basically, you’re on a huge slippery slope, and claiming that promiscuity leads to the death of civilisation is a step away from religious “live like I live” bullshit.

    If you think the only problem was the AIDs in kids, the whole thing’s gone right over your head. If that movie wouldn’t have just sickened you or been a bad thing for you if there had been no AIDs, then well. seek help.


    Ultimately, you can have your own values, I will have mine, and The Millionaires can have theirs, and non of us can tell the other how to live their life.

    So I guess Ted Bundy and Ghandi are just like one guy liking vanilla and one guy liking chocolate then? no. you’re wading into a mire here. There are objectively better ways to live life, and there are moral truths about values and virtue. But that in itself is a massive debate not for here.

    “Doesn’t make it bad if you’re not in a relationship. It’s the same as calling computers evil because they don’t work underwater! They’re not meant to, just like being in a relationship isn’t meant to involve sleeping around.”

    What I meant was that the sluttish things don’t just stop when one starts a relationship, they create a climate of behaviour which is unescapable. They carry over into it.

    I can’t speak really about your research stuff, because we don’t have the sources, unless you want to produce them. But I find it hard to believe there are less sexual partners in somalia or brasil than there are in sweden.


    Ultimately, the millionaires write dumb catchy pop tunes that I and many others enjoy. Take them, their image, and everything else with a pinch of salt, and realise it’s not all meant to be taken at face value.

    Maybe not. I’m not saying they shouldn’t exist. I’m saying that you were wrong to say they had no general pretension.

    That’s the bottom line. Most of your time has been spent arguing against attitudes or whatever, which may be fun, but doesn’t respond to the point.

    You were wrong to say they had no pretension. Your definition of the word was too far removed to be used successfully in an open forum because it changed what applied to it. That’s that, as far as I’m concerned.

  5. Ok, so now your whole stance has changed to accusing me of using the word pretentious wrong, which whatever, sorry for making such a grave mistake in a “public forum” such as this. They are pretentious then, fine, but it’s a very obvious, self aware, innocuous pretention, and no where near as obnoxious and irritating (in my opinion) as people who use art to prove how intelligent and superior they are.

    Congratulations on semantics.

    Comparing promiscuous activity to Bundy is fucking rediculous

    “What I meant was that the sluttish things don’t just stop when one starts a relationship, they create a climate of behaviour which is unescapable. They carry over into it.”

    This is untrue, and now you’re sounding like people who claim that videogames or pornagraphy are addictive and ruin lives and thus should all be banned. I know people who have made this transition perfectly, and often it helps secure relationships, as that lifestyle isn’t fun anymore and becomes “been there, done that, time to move on”. From here on out all you’re saying is you regard this attitude as immoral. Whatever, again, your views and you’re allowed to hold them.

    Again, you’re using a problem with STDs as a reason why “sex is wrong”. Again, lack of care, education is the problem, not sex itself. Ultimately it’s just another danger of many that come with life. Should teenagers be banned from crossing roads because they are careless, or banned from preparing food because their carelessness could lead to food poisoning? Life is dangerous, which dosn’t mean you should stamp out certain activities to reduce the likelihood of accident. Then everyone would be sitting alone in locked rooms for their own safety.

  6. Ha genius! Love it Rowan! By the way Phil, Rowan, someone’s going to have to fill in for me this saturday (no-matter what you say phil) so get writing! Either of you 🙂

Leave a Reply

