Twilight..not all bad?

I’ve just come back from the Lakes and I found myself drawn back to Bon Iver, the sheet of rain and glum skies seemed a heavenly combination to For Emma, Forever Ago. Despite only being released in 2008 I seem to associate it with being an all time classic that I know I will always find comfort in. Being completely isolated in the middle of nowhere made me think of  Justin Vernon’s state of mind after spending three months as a recluse recording the whole album on his own. Now I don’t really want him to be constantly depressed but some amazing things came out of that spell in his remote cabin whilst he was getting over his previous year of illness and the breakdown of both his previous band and relationship.

I love that he supposedly always writes the lyrics to fit with syllables of the melody and this proves for some magical lyrics that seem to be in paradisiacal harmony with the melody, I think this works particularly well in Skinny Love.

Come on skinny love what happened here
Suckle on the hope in lite brassiere
My, my, my, my, my, my, my, my
Sullen load is full; so slow on the split

I picked out that simply because I love the l second and last line, the sibilance is perfectly synchronised.  I could have copied the lyrics to the whole song but I think that listening to the tracks over to try and make out the lyrics is far more interesting. His madness and methods are equally powerful in Woods which was released in 2009 which lyrically consists of only one sentence.  I think this perfectly shows the purity in his voice and is simply beautiful to listen to, everytime I listen to it i feel like it completely consumes me.

So after spending a good couple of hours listening to Bon Iver, I stumbled across something which I don’t readily want to admit to but there seemed to be a substantial number of related videos coming up  on the right hand side on YouTube mentioning Twilight. After making sure no one was looking I nervously clicked on the links and I found myself actully enjoying some, although by no means all of the tracks on the New Moon soundtrack. I couldn’t believe that it included Thom Yorke, Bon Iver and Grizzly Bear!Maybe something good came out of the film…the loved up thirteen year old girls might appreciate some good music even if they don’t appreciate a plot line.

So after all this lovely rather breathless throaty music I had to pick up the tempo before I started falling asleep, so I grabbed a coffee and put on some PJ Harvey. Stories from the City,Stories from the Sea seemed to fit the purpose, this album seems to show off a (slightly) happier and sexier Polly Jean then some of her earlier ones and it’s possibly my favourite of all..although don’t hold me to that.

I really think that PJ Harvey is one of the best lyricists out there and continually seems to reinvent herself with each album. I can’t wait for her next album which is due to come out later this year and sounds like it’s going to be a folky Polly that emerges next. She performed in April on the Andrew Marr show, when I first heard this I was slightly dubious but I’m drawn back to it again and again and unsurprisingly I now love it and there is no doubt this album will soon be on my shelf. Enjoy!

One thought on “Twilight..not all bad?

  1. Completley in disbelief that PJ Harvey was on the AM show AND that i missed it! Fantastic!

    Also totally with you on the twilight soundtrack, i saw that Battles were debuting their new track on it a few weeks a back which was a wtf moment!

    Xx

Leave a Reply

