The Thrill of the Trill

Every once in a while, I think it helps to listen to something a little more refined, just so you can feel better than everyone else. Nothing really says “I’m much more in touch with my intelligence than the average snob” more than putting on a bit of Bach or Mozart, knowing full well some people really won’t know their Chopin from their Elgar. But then again, I don’t really know the difference. But what I do know is this: classical music is amazing!

My favourites always wind up being the simpler pieces, but by contrast to modern music that doesn’t necessarily mean that it’s easier to play. By simpler, I basically mean that the tunes I like are Sonatas with little or no accompaniment.  The instruments themselves are also a bit of a bitch to get your head round let alone play something remotely nice, so lets just say that its not just enjoyment that I get out of the experience, its also reverence.

That point brings me quite nicely to the crux of the matter: the Violin. A more fantastic instrument cannot have been made that can capture human emotions like I can catch a cold. The delicate, the staccato, the joyous, the morose; the Violin can gobble up and spit out your heart in seconds and I very much doubt that there will be many people who disagree.

The Violin piece, formally Sonata for Violin in G Minor by Giuseppe Tartini (or informally, “The Devil’s Trill”) is a masterpiece of technical and artistic skill. This violin sonata is renowned for its difficulty, and it could be said that it is one of the hardest violin pieces to play that has ever been made! In fact it is so technical that it sounds like there simply must be more than one violin player to create such lovely music, which brings about the whole ‘Devil’ thing where he has like six arms and plays the fiddle like a badass.

In all seriousness though, the piece is extremely lovely, with highs and lows and ups and downs and it just sounds so right to me!

Leave a Reply

