The Pretty Reckless

As I was absorbed in some important tasks at work, something grabs my attention and makes me stop what I’m doing. The Pretty Reckless new album, Light Me Up is on Spotify? My ears giggled with glee. How exciting!

I had been expecting big things from this band who had only just recently appeared on my radar a couple of months back. Since hearing their first single Make Me Wanna Die, I was itching for more of their rock-fuelled music. Taylor’s vocals definitely had me hooked.

And it was oddly surprising to feel this way about this band, which is fronted by no other than Taylor Momsen (initially made famous by the U.S. TV show, Gossip Girl).

People who make the transition from actor to singer naturally make me more speculative toward them and invite more scrutiny, than say someone who has launched themselves without being put under the spotlight first.

But I invite you to just listen to the music without any scruples; whether it is about her age (she is only 16 you may bleat!), or her past.

I was overly impressed with the full track listing of The Pretty Reckless’ new album, Light Me Up. It had some variety, but what impressed me the most was the texture and almost raw feel to Taylor’s voice. It definitely has an incredibly familiar sound to that of Courtney Love. It is indefinitely unique and distinct, which helps set her apart from the regular pop-vocals of Cheryl Cole and The Saturdays.

Light Me Up is a middle of the road jam laced with catchy riffs, and a steady beat playing underneath. Well structured, it does the trick and is a good background song, whilst you are “working”! The song doesn’t allow for Taylor’s voice to sound at its’ best but the raw edge still manages to shine through.

Goin’ Down reminds us more of what Rock is about. It has heavier rolling beats and plenty more guitar riffs. Taylor’s scratchy voice, blares over the ruckus that will get you dancing around the room in no time.

Nothing Left to Lose is a beautifully written song, both lyrically and musically. Surprisingly poignant and sincere in tone, it particularly stood out to me on first listen (despite being a ballad).

“After Jesus and rock n’ roll, couldn’t save my immoral soul. I’ve got nothing left to lose.”

Miss Nothing plays in the same way as Goin Down. You can sense the song was written with much attitude and punch to it, which is reflected in the syncopated rhythms.

The video is yes, quite distasteful in my opinion – a 16 year old writhing around on a dining table, a snarl playing at her lips. I suppose that’s the overall look she is going for, right? Who am I to judge a band’s identity. After all, we should never judge a book by the cover. We should give it a listen first.

Leave a Reply

