Now Introducing #7 – Jack

Hey, Listen! We’re on to the penultimate member of our team, our seventh and most adorable writer, Jack!

Some say… that he actually spends Thursday mornings listening to 2Pac and Biggie Smalls and that, if you made him strip to his boxers, they’d be corduroy too.

Bio: Male, 20, studying Philosophy at Cambridge.
Music: Big ass vicious noise.
Generic Stereotype: Everyone’s favourite shorty. A philosopher too, so naturally talentless at football. Definitely no Albert Camus.

If I grabbed your headphones right now who would I be most likely to be listening to?

Over the last couple of days I’ve been listening to the new DOM EP ‘Family of Love’. It doesn’t break any new ground but nonetheless, it’s a charming and well-crafted half hour of synth pop.


What is the music event of the year?

My top two musical highlights of 2011 have been seeing Portishead headline the I’ll Be Your Mirror in London and then seeing Ariel Pink play a wonderful set at Field Day last weekend. Both performances are going to stay with me for a long time.

For you, when does music begin?

I think I’m much too ignorant to form an opinion on when music began. However my tastes generally focus on music produced after 1950. It’s a bit of a cliché but the earliest album that I consistently go back to is ‘Kind of Blue’ by Miles Davies. However once in a while I’ll venture back a bit for a Robert Johnson song or some of the stuff Duke Ellington produced in the 40s.

One thought on “Now Introducing #7 – Jack

  1. Pingback: Did Hip-Hop Fuel The London Riots? Well No, Actually. « The Phonograph

Leave a Reply

